amo.says

my life in my words

Good Together | Seek & Find in 2017

Leave a comment

The PROMISES of 2017 helped me get through so much of the mess that came packed into the year. This past year has brought pain, sacrifice, the death of loved ones, job focus shifts, large financial undertakings, medial setbacks and political distress. Despite those things, it has also brought a deeper faith, a wider range of relationships and potential additions to my family. I’ve been able to walk into circumstances of struggle and see God provide time and time again. Being able to believe and see God’s faithfulness show up in my life this past year have helped me to choose this year’s word . . . s. Usually I just pick one, but this year after thinking and praying about it, I got a little bit more to go with.

My focus for this year is:

blogseekandfind

A couple of nights ago, I felt a tug on my heart and heard the compelling voice of the Holy Spirit to go to my potential foster daughter’s bedroom and just pray for her while she was away at a youth group sleepover. I tried to reason it away because I was feeling sick and tired, but I couldn’t shake it. So I walked over to her room, knelt beside her bed and prayed that this home would be a refuge for her and that she would find space here to heal, learn, love, grow, and become the incredible young woman she was created to be. I prayed that peace, grace, and love would cover her to remind her that she’s valuable to me and others. As I headed back to bed, I knew that this next year would be one of seeking God for truth and wisdom even more.

14364859_10157496731815486_1408870695411225245_n

Today’s the big day!! It’s my first #RespiteWeekend ever and I’m so looking forward to it! Even though we only get 48hrs., I hope it’s just what she needs to relax and refresh before heading back to school next week! Prayers for a smooth weekend filled with fun & quality connections are appreciated.

Parenting in and of itself is one of the most demanding roles anyone will ever step into throughout life. Parenting a child from a hard place, while pastoring and holding a part time business position certainly adds its own plot points to the story. Still, I am up for this role of a lifetime and look forward to walking through it knowing I’m not alone on the journey. I realize that everyone will have an opinion on how I should parent or what will be the best thing for me and my Kiddo and I am/will be so grateful for every nugget of wisdom I acquire along the way. But ultimately I will need to rely on what God is revealing to me as I seek Him to build my faith, family, connections, and career. He knows me best, knows Kiddo best, and knows how we should build family life best. In my seeking, I know that if I seek all of those other outlets for truth while skipping or diminishing God in the equation, I will continually be stuck in struggle and disappointment. I don’t want my seeking after Him to be lukewarm or passive, but rather intentional and with expectancy. As I seek, I don’t want to just rely on what’s in my mind already. I want to ask questions and prioritize studying God’s word for truth and wisdom along the way.

seekandfind

This is my foundational scripture for my year of seeking and finding.

I would love for you to Seek and Find with me as life unfolds in the valleys, mountaintops, and common hours all year long. I will do my best to share the things I find along the way either here on the blog, over coffee dates and phone calls, or on my social media outlets. I am looking forward to taking time to put more time and attention towards God in my everyday life and see where He leads me!

Happy New Year, everyone!

15822940_10158012369440486_5910569772190354766_n

Welcoming the New Year with dear friends and lots of laughs! Bonus move is New Year’s at the Needle!!

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

Leave a Reply

