amo.says

my life in my words

Counting Rope

1 Comment

crLogo

The counting rope knots never lie

One. Two. Three. Four. Five.

One brave little girl that dared to dare

Two adults running fast, running scared

Three more days to plan the escape

Four hours spent cutting cautious red tape

Five years of fearful regrets fill my eyes

Another knot now, welling up in my core

Hold out the rope and reach for the drawer

One little lighter fueling this fighter

Two clicks to flame, blaze burning brighter

Three knots engulfed in the sun-kissed gleam

Four burning burdens give way to new dreams

Five tears of freedom lead to something more

The counting rope singed in a pile on the ground.

What was has been burned, new endeavors abound.

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

One thought on “Counting Rope

Leave a Reply

