amo.says

my life in my words

Halfway to Heaven

Leave a comment

DOC
A single minute can change your entire life.
Can you imagine what could happen in 100?
Welcome to the 10-Day Do Over Challenge, a small adventure with big possibilities.
Inside this PDF are ten challenges . . . . The hope is that ten minutes of motivation will turn into additional minutes of hustle. 
Don’t read ahead and don’t try to do all the challenges in a day. Cramming all ten into a single afternoon would be like trying to do an entire diet in one day. You’d end up eating ten days’ worth of kale in one sitting and wouldn’t get any healthier in the process. (By the way, kale chips taste like pages of a burnt novel. Someone had to say it.)
Life is too short for long introductions. Let’s go!

— Jon Acuff, creator of the 10-Day Do Over Challenge

 

I'm excited to join Jon Acuff in the 10-day #DoOverBook Challenge!

I’m excited to join Jon Acuff in the 10-day #DoOverBook Challenge!

 

Six days ago I accepted a challenge to take on a “Do Over.” The cool thing is that it actually flows into my theme for the year: RECLAIM.

Today's #DoOverBook Challenge Craft: Creating a huge Bible for our Exploring The Bible series at 2Twelve, out of a couch box, kraft paper, spray paint, paint and masking tape. :O

Today’s #DoOverBook Challenge Craft: Creating a huge Bible for our Exploring The Bible series at 2Twelve, out of a couch box, kraft paper, spray paint, paint and masking tape. :O

When I was a young girl, art class was one of my favorites! I loved making pottery, drawing, creating statues out of everyday pieces, and oil painting (oh baby, that was pure delight!). I also really enjoyed arts and crafts for in-school projects. You know, creating murals, helping to design the bulletin board for the teacher for extra credit, and making Valentine’s Day paper sacks to hang at the front of the class. While I always gave my best effort and enjoyed expressing myself creatively through those artistic means, there were always a couple of girls who were better than me.

DOB2

Crafted some fun little fortune cookies today for my #DoOverBook Challenge. 😀 ♥

They were more popular than I was, so their work got the most Oooohs and Aaahhhs. They used expensive, high-quality materials, while I used the basic Wal-Mart rip-offs of everything. In Elementary School, I decided that I just didn’t have what it takes to be an artist because my work would never be as great as those girls. No one really appreciated my cardboard box and construction paper board game for the Math Class project. They were too busy being blown away by the hand-carved wooden slat and magnet games created by the popular girls. I was dumb enough back then to believe that my work was, and would always be sub-par.

Today's #DoOverBook Challenge Craft: Custom letters to send home to the Fam Bam! ♥

Today’s #DoOverBook Challenge Craft: Custom letters to send home to the Fam Bam! ♥

Tragically, I carried much of that mentality along with me into adulthood and began to see most everything I did in light of the great masterpieces of those who “had what it took.” So when the Do-Over Challenge came, I almost passed it up, thinking I didn’t stand a chance at doing anything meaningful. Still, I sucked it up and put on my brave face, and dared to reclaim the inner-artist I had left behind in Elementary Class. I decided that my Do-Over would involve reclaiming my love for arts ‘n’ crafts. Now 6 days in, I’m realizing just how much freedom and life I feel when I am doing simple arts ‘n’ craft projects. With each project, I’m challenged to think creatively and find purpose for the finished product.

Today's #DoOverBook Challenge Craft: Beaded bracelets for my little love bug nieces! ♥

Today’s #DoOverBook Challenge Craft: Beaded bracelets for my little love bug nieces! ♥

I’m really glad I took on the challenge and I’m looking forward to reclaiming even more of the simple joys I left behind in boxes of shame and hurt as this year passes. I know they can only bring bright and beautiful things, because that’s what I see in each of these projects I’ve taken on thus far!

It feels so good to be crafting again! ♥ #DoOverBook

It feels so good to be crafting again! ♥ #DoOverBook

 

What about you? Is there something you’d like to Do Over? Or at least begin to Do Over for 10 days? If so, head on over HERE and take the 10-Day Do Over Book Challenge!

 

Today's #DoOverBook Challenge Craft: Some fuzzy minion friends to share with my real friends!

Today’s #DoOverBook Challenge Craft: Some fuzzy minion friends to share with my real friends!

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

Leave a Reply

