amo.says

my life in my words

BANG BANG | Reclaiming 2015!

Leave a comment

Happy 2015 to you and your family!

IMG_20150101_000445

 

2014 was a great year for me, and I’m looking forward to an equally fulfilling 2015. Instead of setting a big resolution each year, I choose to focus on one word and let it become my theme for life choices throughout the year. Last year, my word was WHOLEHEARTED. I took concepts from Brené Brown’s book, The Gifts of Imperfection and divided them up into specific monthly focuses. I won’t be doing the same this year—I’m going to change it up. I’m also going to be blogging more often. I find it completely therapeutic and empowering to use my written voice on this platform and I’m hoping you’ll stick around to watch the fireworks. 😉

Me and one of my housemates, ready to ring in the new year!

Me and one of my housemates, ready to ring in the new year!

 

As I spent time this Fall asking God for a word to challenge and carry me through this year, the resounding answer came around the end of November. That word is . . .

Reclaim Banner

[RECLAIM]

  • To get back (something that was lost or taken away)
  • To make available for use by changing its condition
  • To get a usable material from materials that have been used before
  • To rescue from an undesirable state
  • To restore to a previous natural state
  • To regain possession of

I realize it’s a broad word, but I feel in my heart that it is the perfect next season for me. It’s already creating an expectancy and spark of faith for the things that will come in 2015. I’m not saying I’m going to be a millionaire or that I’m going to hike the planet for a year. What I am saying is that I am expecting God to change the landscape of my heart and open up new doors for exciting adventures to help me reclaim things that have been lost or damaged along the way in my life. That could mean relationships, traditions, mindsets, occupational perspectives, etc. All that to say that I am excited for the brave things I’ll have to face, the mountains I’ll have to climb, the new experiences I’ll embark on, and all the life lessons I’ll learn along the way this year. Stay tuned . . . it may be a bumpy ride, but I’m believing that the person I will be on the other end of this year will be worth the ride!

 

Celebrating with friends is a great way to kick off the first few moments of 2015!

Celebrating with friends is a great way to kick off the first few moments of 2015!

 

As a way to usher in this exciting new year, I was able to join some friends of mine as we celebrated friendship, counted down to a brand new year, and lit up the sky with fireworks and hopes for a better year ahead! Here are some of the pics from that night:

 

Getting ready to ring in the new year with some praise and worship . . . then on to the fireworks!

Getting ready to ring in the new year with some praise and worship . . . then on to the fireworks!

Our gracious host giving us an explanation and the opportunity to write on some of the mortars that we'd be blowing up, to signify blowing  up 2014!

Our gracious host giving us an explanation and the opportunity to write on some of the mortars that we’d be blowing up, to signify blowing up 2014!

These fellas lit up the sky   like pros! One of them even lit up his sleeve for a few minutes on accident :O

These fellas lit up the sky like pros! One of them even lit up his sleeve for a few minutes on accident :O

We also got to celebrate our host's birthday at the party!

We also got to celebrate our host’s birthday at the party!

 

Enjoying a sweet time of Praise & Worship at last night’s New Years Eve Party!

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

Leave a Reply

