amo.says

my life in my words

Back In Time

2 Comments

Early morning SeaTac time

Early morning SeaTac time

 

Day one of travel to my hometown is here! Well, actually, it’s come and gone. That’s right, I’ve done some major time traveling today! This morning at 3:30 am I got a phone call from my sweet friend (and co-worker), Glenda, telling me that she was outside ready to take me to the airport. I quickly jetted out of bed to put on clothes (though judging from the ATX temps, I probably  would have been fine wearing next to nothing), grab my last-minute snacks from the fridge and head out the door!

 

Travel snacks, knitting bag, & luggage in tow, ready to board the 1st flight on my way home! Major thanks to my G-Mama, Glenda Hamlin Wright, for the early-bird ride to the errrrport!

 

We had a great conversation on the way over to the airport, exchanged hugs, and I was off to brave the gigantor lines surrounding United Airlines. When I FINALLY made it to the check-in/bag-drop kiosk, the airline’s records showed a major problem with my itinerary. Though my e-ticket showed that I was flying SEA to IAH, then IAH to AUS, their computer system was showing that I was flying SEA to IAH, and that my connecting flight was YESTERDAY, with a final destination of San Antonio. Ummm no. WRONG-O! In the course of fixing my ticket, I missed the 45 minute cut-off and they were going to need to re-book me on a new flight, getting in to Austin at 10:30p instead of my scheduled 4p. Again, ummm no.

 

Morning Joe On The Go

Frustrating moments lead to craving comfort foods . . . like drip coffee! I must say, their Kati Kati blend rules, yo!

 

I was super frustrated and near tears when I asked to speak with the manager. After getting everything sorted out, my wonderful, gracious, patient agent, Dean Edmonds, was on the phone with multiple airlines and was about to book me on a flight from Seattle to Phoenix to Denver to Austin with an arrival at 8:30p. It would definitely mess up my car rental booking and dinner plans so I wasn’t completely thrilled about it. I was still pretty flustered, but my hands were tied so I agreed to book that one. That is, until he said, “WAIT! I think I found a better workaround for you!” Yes, he saved my day! I will now be flying Seattle to Phoenix to Austin with an arrival of 4:30p!

 

You know you're in Seattle when . . .  Hmm, actually, catching a quick read in a rocking chair doesn't sound like a bad idea at all!

You know you’re in Seattle when . . . Hmm, actually, catching a quick read in a rocking chair sounds like a pretty great idea right now!

Dear Dean at the United Airlines booth in SeaTac:

THANK YOU!!

YOU HAVE SAVED MY LIFE! I AM ETERNALLY GRATEFUL!!!

 

Now that I know that time travel is possible and that I’ve safely arrived back in the present day, I’m ready to go and tackle my family with hugs!! Our first order of business once I arrive is a family Chick-Fil-A dinner date! HOLY YUM! The second order will be sleeping!!! Away I go!!

 

Sporting my Westside Softball shirt in solidarity with our team, who is playing the season tournament today without me. :'(

Sporting my Westside Softball shirt in solidarity with our team, who is playing the season tournament today without me. 😥

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, lived in Seattle, WA, and now back home in Texas! I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

2 thoughts on “Back In Time

  1. Whew! At that time of the morning I don’t think I would have made it through all those crazy detours we encountered at the last minute if you hadn’t been such a great co-pilot!! Love the story of how our Father in heaven took care of you at the ticket counter 🙂 I think that may be just the beginning of a breathtaking trip full of a roller coaster of stories to tell.when you get back!!

Leave a Reply

