amo.says

my life in my words

My Forgotten Favorite

4 Comments

Dear Cher Horowitz,

I need your help! Or at least a little bit of guidance from your fancy schmancy clothing-picker-outer thingie!

Sincerely,

Shoeless in Seattle

 

Can I buy this program using food stamps???

 

Yes, my friends, the time has come for me to replace my shoes (I know this totally constitutes breaking news, right?!?). My Cons have seen me through the good times, the bad times, and every other time in between. However, like many, they were run ragged, soles worn out, and losing traction. I mean, c’mon, just look at ’em!

 

My poor babies :(

My poor babies 😦

 

 

I had to say goodbye to my old friends and I began a quest for a new pair of shoes. It seemed like a simple task, but it just wasn’t. I wanted something relatively cheap, made from quality materials, that would last me a long time. I began my hunt at some shoe shops downtown, then moved onto the Target & Sports Authority in my neighborhood, and carried the fun over to the mall . . . twice! The first time I checked out the mall’s offerings, it was near closing time and stores were shutting down, thus my browsing time was cut short. I went back last night to a couple of other stores I hadn’t visited yet and found some great looking shoes at some not-so-great looking prices. I admit it—I am a cheapo! If I can get a discount or hit up a sale, I’ll do it. I’ll be on it like white on rice! It just didn’t work out for me this time because no SALE shoes that were moderately priced were in my size/preferred style.

 

 

Skechers GoRun2s

Skechers GoRun2s

 

I DID, however, fall in love with this hot pink & black number! She’s purrrdyyy!! She’s also got a back-story to her. Check it out:

 

Lady, you ALMOST had a customer :(

Lady, you ALMOST had a customer 😦

 

Whomp Whomp! So the search continued. I tried on some sparkly, polka-dotted, and solid Vans; I test-walked some TOMS; I perused sale racks at The Finish Line and Zumiez and still no-go. After visiting store after store, I ventured back over to Target and realized that. yea though my previous 3 pairs of shoes had all been Cons and I was trying to break outta my “Same ‘ol, same ‘ol” style, sometimes you just gotta go back to what you know and love. May I introduce you to my brand new kicks?

 

NewCons

No, your eyes do not deceive you. I actually factually wear size 11 shoes. I’m pretty sure I inherited my Daddy’s shoe genes. (O_o)

 

I contemplated getting a new pair of running shoes elsewhere, but after being worn out and just DONE with shopping, I realized that these beauties will do the trick! They may not be “running” shoes, but they move nicely when I run. They may not be “cross-training” shoes, but they offer good support and flexibility when I cross-train. They may seem like the underdog in a lot of ways, but by golly—they look cool, feel cool, and give my feet the ability to FLY through every challenge life throws my way!

 

 

I believe I can fly!!!!

I believe I can fly!!!!

 

Okay, so the Schwings DO help too 😉

Q: What are your favorite places to shoe shop?

Q: Do you have any shopping pet peeves?

Q: Do you believe you can fly? 😉

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, lived in Seattle, WA, and now back home in Texas! I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

4 thoughts on “My Forgotten Favorite

  1. Yep, size 11W or 11 1/2s that’s your dad’s size.

  2. actually this was your dad posting.

Leave a Reply

