amo.says

my life in my words

Synesthesia | The Color Run 5K 2013

4 Comments

I had so much fun doing The Color Run yesterday and thought I’d share some recap photos with ya!

 

The premise of The Color Run is that every kilometer has a color checkpoint and as you run through the checkpoint, the volunteers stand on the sides and throw a (non-toxic) color powder on you. Each checkpoint features a different color, (Orange, Yellow, Blue, Pink, Green) so that by the end of the run, you are covered in color. They also include an extra packet of color powder for you to hang on to until the end of the run and when you get to the finale zone, they have dance music, giveaways, free treats, etc. and on a 1-2-3 count in 15 minute intervals, everyone throws powder from their extra packets in the air!

 

 

Success, it is ours!

Success, it is ours!

 

 

My wonderful friends, Emily and Amber, joined me in the run . . . though we did more jogging than running—one had a hurt ankle and the other had recently given birth, so we made sure to take it easy. Still, we pushed ourselves, fought hard, and cheered victoriously as we crossed that finish line! Honestly, it felt so awesome to be able to jog the entire way. It was very fun and we all had an incredible morning getting covered in color!

 

All my Pre-Race goodies: T-shirt, Bib, Stuff Cuff to hold my cards/phone, Color Runner sweatband, Hot Pink color packet (by request, natch!), Color Run temporary tattoos

All my Pre-Race goodies: T-shirt, Bib, Stuff Cuff to hold my cards/phone, Color Runner sweatband, Hot Pink color packet (by request, natch!), Color Run temporary tattoos

Ready, ready, ready, ready—READY TO RUN!

Ready, ready, ready, ready—READY TO RUN!

I stopped off for breakfast at Caffe Ladro and treated myself to one of my favorite baked goods: Vegan Oat Bar! Forever yum!

I stopped off for breakfast at Caffe Ladro and treated myself to one of my favorite baked goods: Vegan Oat Bar! Forever yum!

And since I was in the treating mood, I couldn't resist stopping in to Metropolitan Market for some fresh pineapple!! Oh be still my heart :D

And since I was in the treating mood, I couldn’t resist stopping in to Metropolitan Market for some fresh pineapple!! Oh be still my heart 😀

I spotted the START LINE signage on the way to meet up with Amber for coffee

I spotted the START LINE signage on the way to meet up with Amber for coffee

As I stopped in to take a gander at any possible pre-race purchases I might like in their Color Run Store, I watched them prep the Finale Zone for the Post-Run Party

As I stopped in to take a gander at any possible pre-race purchases I might like in their Color Run Store, I watched them prep the Finale Zone for the Post-Run Party

I also took the opportunity to try some of the SWAG. They sampled some of the new Cascade Ice flavors and I am in love with them . . . now I just have to wait for them to go on sale ;) I also got to play a game at the Starbucks booth and though I didn't win the ring toss game, they still gave me a $5 gift card—sweeeeet!

I also took the opportunity to try some of the SWAG. They sampled some of the new Cascade Ice flavors and I am in love with them . . . now I just have to wait for them to go on sale 😉 I also got to play a ring-toss game at the Starbucks booth and though I didn’t win, they still gave me a $5 gift card—sweeeeet!

After some quality coffee chat time and the big line-up, we were finally ready to get our Color Run on!

Team “We’ve Got The Runs” is ready to go!

 

Though we were nicely coated in color at each checkpoint, I couldn't help but roll around for some bonus brightness!

Though we were nicely coated in color at each checkpoint, I couldn’t help but roll around for some bonus brightness!

 

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!

 

♥ Celebrating the victory with my friends ♥

♥ Celebrating the victory with my friends ♥

 

We know how to party!

Tough girls know how to party!

 

Not so empty anymore ;)

Not so empty anymore 😉

 

Color, color, everywhere!

Color, color, everywhere!

 

 

But honestly, the pictures just don’t do it justice . . . one must experience it for themselves. However, since it’s already past and the next one isn’t happening til 2014, go ahead and watch this fun little glimpse into the Happiest 5K on the Planet!

 

I’M ALREADY LOOKING FORWARD TO DOING IT AGAIN NEXT YEAR!

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, lived in Seattle, WA, and now back home in Texas! I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

4 thoughts on “Synesthesia | The Color Run 5K 2013

  1. Maybe next year I can join again! Looks like a blast.

  2. If you don’t want to wait until 2014 for more color fun, we sell colored cornstarch powder by the 75 gm packet, 1.5 lb bag and 25 lb box at colormyparty.net. It isn’t just for 5ks anymore.

Leave a Reply

