amo.says

my life in my words

Two Lanes Of Freedom

3 Comments


cr

 

It’s been so nice to get back to life on the run. No, not THE RUNS, just the run. A fun run, if you will . . . or if you won’t. 😉

 

t’s a perfect evening to pump up some #MatKearney tunes and pump out a trial #5K in the neighborhood! #ColorRun, here I come!

 

It may be hard to believe, but I’ve actually scaled back and simplified a lot more things in life. The tough part is trying to get my mind to cooperate. You would think it would be easy to shut it off once the work day is done and I move into chillax mode. Sadly, that isn’t the case—it still runs a mile a minute, concocting wild dreams, ideas, strategies, and the like. In the past week alone, I’ve dreamt up a coffee shop business, a book series, a new blog series, a strategy for a Fall small group I want to lead, a training session for our Kids Ministry workers, and so much more. My mind just does not stop. I can’t tell you how many times 10pm rolls around and I have to literally tell myself, “Stop thinking. Go to bed!” It’s a thing. (O_o)

 

I’m the weirdy doing the half-squat in black & hot pink on the front row, center. 😉

 

One of the many things on my mind lately has been running. I got a chance to participate in a Boston Strong Tribute Run with my friends Lauren and her hubby, David a few weeks ago and it felt SO good to push myself. It was tough stuff, man! I had to take a lot of breaks, but thanks to David’s encouragement, I pushed through to finish strong. That’s what I’m hoping to do tomorrow at The Color Run! Yes, it’s true—even though I’m still recovering in many ways, I’m getting my butt back in gear and giving it all I’ve got to put some fun in my run!

 

Go Team M&M!!!

Go Team M&M!!!

 

I’ll be joining up with 2 other ladies from my church, and I know of a couple gals from my gym and another FaceBook friend that are also going to be there running it. I’m looking forward to it because it’s a fresh start. This morning, in BodyPump class, my instructor said something and it just completely resonated with me and gave me so much joy and encouragement. She said,

 

Our lives are full of challenges, 
but those challenges should never define us!

That is golden for me. I know that on the outside, things look great, but honestly, I’m still recovering in little ways. I had my first anxiety attack at the dentist office on Wednesday. I’ve been super sensitive and emotional all week. I’ve broken down in tears a few times over the past couple of weeks because I just absolutely miss my family. I’ve been frustrated from having to take it easy in the gym due to some muscle injuries. I have had to take it easy in a couple of Group X classes as well because I haven’t had the endurance I used to have and I get paranoid that I’m going to overwork my heart. I feel like some people close to me have lost trust in me. I bought 2 expensive products at Whole Foods the other day because a couple of bloggers I follow recommended them and they were both gross, which bummed me out. I need to schedule a check-up with my doc, who just returned from her sabbatical, but the thought of stepping back in to a clinic makes my stomach turn. In the words of Tony Stark, “I’m a hot mess.” . . . okay, maybe lukewarm mess. I realize things could be a lot worse, but this is just where I’m at.

 

Ohhh tomorrow! You’re only a daaaay awaaaay!! ♥

 

The only time my thinker isn’t running full-speed ahead is when I’m running. I’ve gone on a few runs over the past couple of weeks in my neighborhood and each time, I’m amazed at the peace I feel because instead of thinking through “whomp whomp moments” and future planning, all I can think of is, “Be ready for that next step.” I like that a lot. I need to start letting that creep in and overtake the other gobbeldy-gook clogging up my mind feed. The fun thing about the run tomorrow morning is that I will be surrounded by 2 of my wonderful friends who are champions in their own right—one who just had a baby and one who is a creative genius! It’s going to be so much fun . . . and oh so messy! BRING IT ON!

 

I would just like to point out that, even covered in ALL of this, I somehow managed to attract a 60 year-old man who wanted me to be his girlfriend . . . seriously. 😐 Flattering, yet disconcerting, I tell ya!

 

Speaking of messy awesome things, check out this video preview for Andrew McMahon’s single, SYNESTHESIA, which gives a nod to the color packet fun aspect of The Color Run! 😀

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

3 thoughts on “Two Lanes Of Freedom

  1. Awesome! So glad to hear you had a blast. Hope to help you find more races in the future (if we aren’t already) via http://gametiime.com!!

Leave a Reply

