amo.says

my life in my words

Mirror

2 Comments

Since I needed to pick up some supplies from Blick’s in Capitol Hill last night, I decided to go ahead and swing on over to the QFC nearby to see if they had some items that weren’t in my neighborhood store that I had coupons for. Luckily, they did! Well, okay, so it was just one product. However, it was the one product I had looked forward to picking up the most and could not find in the QFC in my hood or the one in Ballard. I cannot wait to try these!

 

Perfect for post-workout snacks on those 5:30am Body Pump mornings!

 

While I was there, I had to go to the bathroom really bad. Their set-up is one that requires you to get the bathroom code from the Customer Service desk. I got the code and headed up, nearly bursting at the seams as I got to the door to the Women’s restroom only to discover that it was closed for maintenance. ARE. YOU. KIDDING ME?!? So I did what any self-respecting lady would do in that desperate moment—I took that code one door down and used the Men’s restroom instead. What?!? Oh, come on, what was I supposed to do?? I was desperate . . . and I most definitely did not want to walk outta that store with pee pants.

 

 

Believe me, I've had plenty of embarrassing moments in public ;)

Believe me, I’ve had plenty of embarrassing moments in public 😉

 

*sigh* On to my point . . .

 

As I was washing up after using the Men’s room, I noticed that they didn’t have a big mirror plastered above the sink. In fact, there was no mirror at all. It got me thinking about the many things that society provides as a convenience to cater to our seemingly important desires. It also got me thinking about why those desires had become needs in my life and what I was doing to maintain balance in them.  I admit, it was weird walking out of there without checking to make sure my hair was in the right place or that my outfit looked well put-together. It also reminded me of this and gave me something to chuckle about as I made my way down the stairs and out the door:

 

 

I walked out with a reminder that I don’t NEED a mirror to tell me that I’m okay. I don’t need to be concerned so much with what others see, so long as I am confident that I am enough. I don’t necessarily need to make sure my hair looks perfect or my shirt straight. It’s okay for people to see me in a disheveled state. Perhaps I will run into another disheveled person and we can exchange disheveled winks, reminding each other that it’s actually okay to live imperfect lives, with hair windblown from enjoying the ride.  All of a sudden, my panicked thoughts of, “Did anyone see me use the Men’s room? Oh Lord, I hope not!” seemed to vanish and I settled on the thought, “I braved the Men’s room! In the face of a challenge, I did the hard thing. And most importantly, I didn’t pee my pants!” Which actually came in handy because as I boarded the bus in front of the QFC to head back home, I bumped into a handsome young man and we exchanged glances and smiles—one more step toward the ledge on the cliff called Romance that I will one day be brave enough to leap into.

 

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

2 thoughts on “Mirror

  1. Another awesome blog post. Loved it. Laughed. Smiled. Nodded with agreement.

Leave a Reply

