amo.says

my life in my words

Legendary

2 Comments

There’s a danger in loving somebodything toooo much . . . 

Nah’ mean??

Yes ladies and gentlemen, there is danger afoot . . . a Big Foot! This recently opened sweet treatery is a mere 3 blocks away from my workplace (The Ol’ 9-to-5) and is catering to my latest addiction—oh so glorious FroYo!! This place seriously rules! Don’t get me wrong, I still got nothin’ but love for Menchie’s, but with this Diner ‘O’ Dreams just a hop skip and a jump away (and not up the hill like Menchie’s is) it’s a major competitor for my affection. Plus, they have some outta-this-world flavors!

Some are kinda scary . . . 

What the what??? Totally tried this!

What the what?!?!? Totally tried this! Let the record show that I’ve never actually drank a Red Bull so I don’t really know what this “should have” tasted like. What I do know is that it was pretty yummo. Not my fave, but not a dud either . . . and I’m still not going to drink Red Bull 😉

But most are really sweet! 

Holy yum, y'all! Did you know that Pineapple is actually my favorite fruit?!? Yeah? Well did you also know that it's more than tempting for me to not just put my mouth under the spigot of this flavor at the FroYo shop? TrueFax. I know, I know, I'm ridiculous. ;)

Holy yum, y’all! Did you know that Pineapple is actually my favorite fruit?!? Yeah? Well did you also know that it’s more than tempting for me to put my mouth under the spigot of this flavor at the FroYo shop and just let it flow freely? TrueFax. I know, I know, I’m ridiculous. 😉

 

Seriously though, this place is a Fro-tastic Wonderland for me! They have a great variety of classic + adventurous toppings to meet my fancy and they offer quality Gluten Free, Low Carb, Vegan, and No Sugar Added flavors that don’t taste “less than.” I’ll be honest, I’ve passed over a cup of ‘Yo’ at other places before because of tasteless or watered down NSA flavors. However, the ones at Yeti are full of flavor and don’t make me feel like I’m cheating myself. Obviously I had to pair my favorite fruit with this delectable flavor:

 

Honestly couldn't even tell that it was NSA, unlike the version I've tried at other FroYo shops. This definitely wins!

Honestly couldn’t even tell that it was NSA, unlike the version I’ve tried at other FroYo shops. This definitely wins!

 

Oh yeah, and I HAVE to tell you, that of all the coffee-flavored FroYo I’ve sampled around town, theirs is the BEST!!! I haven’t found a perfect mix for it yet, and lately I’ve been all about the mix, but believe me—it’s SUPER rich and delicious! It’s been fun stopping in from time to time to indulge in the sweet Yeti goodness and not feel like I have to rush around to grab-and-go. I’ve been known to pair a cup of this tasty freeze with some Red Beans & Rice w/ Andouille Sausage Gumbo at Metropolitan Market next door. It’s a match made in heaven if you ask me. 😉

 

You should also know that I'm a huge Menchie's spoon connoisseur and I carry an extra one around with me to use for eating soup or FroYo at other shops (The Jewel Box/Yogurtland). However, the spoons at Yeti are pretty rad and come in some great colors that I love! So now I carry one of each ;) www.I'mAMess.com

You should also know that I’m a huge fan of the Menchie’s spoon—so much so that I carry an extra one around with me to use for eating soup or FroYo at other shops (The Jewel Box/Yogurtland). I just like the weight, feel, and shape of it compared to others. However, the spoons at Yeti are pretty rad and come in some great colors that I love! So now I carry one of each 😉 http://www.I’mAMess.com

 

Speaking of perfect pairing, things are about to get even worse (but mostly better) for my wallet! I not only got one of these sweet babies:

 

Oh Yeti Club, ♫ you got a friend in me . . . ♫

Oh Yeti Club, ♫ you got a friend in me . . . ♫

 

But I also downloaded the Pirq app that Yeti uses, so I can get FroYo discounts (usually 30% or 50% off) during certain days/times. What a win!

 

http://pirq.com/

Dear Perq, thank you for helping us indulge on the cheap. Signed, Amo and her wallet.

 

Menchie’s also uses Pirq, so if the deal is better at one location, I’ll go there. But mostly, I’m okay with passing up the bigger money discount for the time convenience of just hitting up the lower discount in the Yeti zone. My main challenge will now be teaching myself that not every day is FroYo day . . . psh. Or maybe it is! 😉

 

I can’t wait til they add more flavors into the rotation . . . like their legendary Peanut Butter Coconut, Peach Cobbler, Greek Lemon, Homemade Apple Crisp, and Oatmeal Cookie! They also have cute shirts, coffee mugs, and other merch goodies for cheap! I’m getting one of the mugs next week!

So uh . . . who’s up for a FroYo date with me in the LQA? 😉

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, lived in Seattle, WA, and now back home in Texas! I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

2 thoughts on “Legendary

  1. Everything in moderation, including moderation itself 😉 I’m totally going to pick you up after work sometime so we can do dessert here!

Leave a Reply

