amo.says

my life in my words

Blue Ocean Floor

Leave a comment

I have a co-worker who jumped on board in our department once I switched from one full-time job to two part-time jobs. He’s originally from Hawaii, so I guess I can understand that he gets warm very easily. However, I get cold very easily. After my recovery allowed me to get back to working normal hours at the office, I noticed something I just hadn’t much taken note of before. I usually come into the office, turn the heat up to 68, take off my jacket and look forward to enjoying the day. About 2 hours later, I’ll notice that it has gotten remarkably colder and I’ll put my jacket back on. Next thing you know, I look up at the ceiling, then at the thermostat on the wall and notice that not only has my co-worker turned the AC down to 60, but he’s also put the fan on in the office. So then after he goes out for his smoke break, I’ll put the heat back on, and turn the fan off. When he comes back, he turns the AC back down and the fan back on. It’s become a pretty fun game. It hasn’t bothered me enough to bring it up as an argument, so I just adjust by leaving my warm clothes on and making LOTS of hot tea throughout the day. (See, he’s helping me stay healthy.) 😉

 

Whaddaya do?

Whaddaya do?

 

But it did spark a funny dialogue today with my boss! After she had been in our office for a few minutes she asked:

Boss: Is it just me or is it REALLY chilly in here?

Me: Yeah, it’s pretty cold.

Boss: Oh, so you’re cold too? Do you want to turn on the heat in here?

Me: Nah. I usually turn it on and then it gets turned off shortly after. I’ll be fine.

Boss: (laughing) Yeah, but only because you’re wearing a jacket, a hat, a scarf, and gloves!

Me: And thermals. 😉

Boss: Ah, I see. So it’s just another sunny day in the office then!

 

We both laughed so much after that! And I still haven’t turned the heater on.  At least I’ll have some hot tea to keep me company today and then tomorrow when I’m working at Westside, I can bring a space heater into my office and stay toasty warm all the day long!

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

Leave a Reply

