amo.says

my life in my words

Smoke Gets In Your Eyes

8 Comments

 

♫ Theyyyyy asked me how I knew my true love was TRUUUUEEEEEE . . . I of course replied, something there inside cannot be denieeeeeeddd . . . ♫

 

fb

For instance, here’s what can’t be denied. I actually think that my April Fools prank paid off this year! :O

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, boys and squirrels, thou hast been pranked! 

Hyuck-Hyuck [100 awesome points if you said that in a Goofy voice]

Hyuck-Hyuck [100 awesome points if you said that in a Goofy voice]

Look folks, it was a risk I was willing to take. In all honesty, I DID go to the Army Surplus store with my friend and we did have a really sweet clerk—who actually encouraged me to don this outfit—but by the time I worked up the courage to go back in there, he was helping another customer. I’ll be back to visit sometime soon, I’m sure. 😉 I really just wanted the picture to send to my dad to say, “You’d be so proud of me! I’m in your store!” Sometimes being an Army brat makes you do ridiculous things.

 

So I didn’t actually end up spending my night out on a hot coffee date. Instead, I opted for a nice evening that most single ladies dream of . . . I got off of work, headed to the gym . . .

 

I went to Body Combat class . . . and now my body is Jell-O. But man oh man do I feel tough!

And then I headed out to the grocery store to pick up supplies to prep my meals for the week . . . 

 

Not pictured is the other package of turkey sausage I'll be pulling out of the freezer later to make some sausage w/ sweet potato mash. Yummo!

Not pictured is the other package of turkey sausage I’ll be pulling out of the freezer later to make some sausage w/ sweet potato mash. Yummo!

 

By the way, strawberries going on sale 2 for $4 may be the best worst thing that ever happened to me 😉

And now I’m settling in for the night, refueling from the workout, and doing some prep-work for our upcoming VBS . . . while watching TOMMY BOY. It’s the perfect Hot-Date-By-YoSelf combo! 😉 Ah yes, this is the life . . . the Single Lady Life. Don’t worry folks, hopefully sooner than later it’ll be the Dating Lady Life. Just give me a little more time and space. ♥ 

 

PS: I'm strongly considering getting tested to see if my hormones are outta whack or something. For the past 2 weeks, I've been craving and noming down on chicken sausage chili and sweet fruit! :O Seriously—pretty much every night, I've eaten an entire bin of strawberries. yeesh! :O

PS: I’m strongly considering getting tested to see if my hormones are outta whack or something. For the past 2 weeks, I’ve been craving and nomming down on chicken sausage chilli and sweet fruit! :O Seriously—pretty much every night, I’ve eaten an entire bin of strawberries. yeesh! :O

 

To all of those who left sweet comments on my FB post—THANK YOU!! It’s actually quite reassuring to know that you would trust and support me in the dating endeavor!! Sadly, I still have not gone on my first date ever. The way I see it, it’s like a fine wine . . . the longer I wait, the more sweet and rich it will be. *fingers crossed* And honestly, if you are the praying kind and would like to add my love life to your prayer list, you could always lift up a little request that God would send the right person at the right time in the right way . . . my way. 😉 

And for those who are still waiting patiently for me to get in the dating game—thanks for your patience. I actually had a guy hit on me the other day . . . but he was in his upper 50s . . . and wasn’t attractive at all. Bummer. Seriously, can we clone Ben Affleck already?!? 

Well folks, I hope you all had a very Happy April Fools and didn’t get tooooooo trixed. If it makes you feel better, this trickster totally got trixed in the lamest way. This morning in our office meeting, one of our co-workers said, “Make sure you’re all prepared for the massive storm that’s due to hit tonight.” We all panicked for a hot second before she laughed and said April Fools. I’m telling you, the level of relief that hit me afterward was ridiculous. I’ve been stranded at my workplace toooooo many times do to inclement weather. No. Thank. You. 

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I must get back to . . .

 

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a Mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, lived in Seattle, WA, and now back home in Texas! I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a NextGen pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

8 thoughts on “Smoke Gets In Your Eyes

  1. Hahahaha! I should have known. Eric and I were actually talking about you dating when I told him about your facebook post. He was wondering if you knew if he was a Christian or not but we agreed that you are SO solid that you weren’t someone we needed to worry about falling for the wrong person 🙂 One day you will be swept off your feet by an amazing man who’s following after Jesus just as passionately as you are. God will meet the desires of your heart when He knows you and your future guy are both ready. Love you girl and glad you’re focusing on you right now!

  2. You totally had me fooled. I was like “Amanda met a guy in an Army Surplus store. Army….. Surplus…. Store.”

    • I know right?? Well the crazy thing is that the clerk was actually kinda cute, but you can’t really tell a lot about him cause they’re all wearing the same blue shirt and khaki mess going on. The things that were different about this one was that he didn’t sound so “stiff” and he had guages in his ears so I figured he was probably just working there for the money. :-/ who knows. But a guy at the Army Surplus store wouldn’t be my 1st ideal. . . i have sooooo many mixed emotions about the military . . . even as an Army Brat. Nay, ESPECIALLY as an Army Brat. :-/

  3. Girlfriend, I love your sense of humor in all this!! I’m older than you by lots and I’m still single.. but why settle if the right one isn’t around yet? Honestly, dating the wrong guy is an absolute waste of time, they add stress, and delay all the good stuff the Lord is building in you… worst – they set you back. I know what you mean about not being equally yoked aged wise.. the last guy who hit on me was 2 .. asked if I was married…from the seat of his shopping cart!.. his aunt confirmed that he was “evil” LOL! I will definately keep you in my prayers.. I believe there is a man for you, because you are fun and have an amazing heart… and only the right man with Jesus in him can see that. Wanna do a prayer exchange? haha!

Leave a comment