amo.says

my life in my words

Welcome To The 60s

5 Comments

If I could personally transport myself to any era, it would most definitely be the Roaring 20s. I dig that era so much that, more often than not, I’ll dress up in flapper gear for costume parties. You can imagine the giggly excitement I get when I think about how one of my favorite books of all time, THE GREAT GATSBY, will be hitting the big screen in a few days! PS: Anyone wanna go see it with me???

 

With the constant posts in my Facebook feed about friends of mine who are either planning their upcoming summer weddings, or those who just got married, I’ve also been getting the wedding bug—that thing where single ladies plan their distant future weddings. Naturally, I was thinking it would be fun to have a Roaring 20s themed wedding. I could wear a dress like this:

 

OR THIS

and my bridesmaids could wear something like this:

 

Well, there’s still plenty of time to think and dream about all of that, and it’ll be a grand occasion no matter what! 

Speaking of grand occasions, we’re gonna move past the 20s and focus on

the 60s . . .

 

because after my final check-up with my Cardiologist yesterday, my resting heart rate is FINALLY up to 63!!!!

This is awesome news!! I guess to fully understand why I’m celebrating that number, you should know that my Cardiologist referred me to see a doctor to evaluate whether or not I needed a Pacemaker because

 

1) at the time of my heart sonogram (a few weeks ago), my resting heart rate was cruising around 37, and

2) my heart rate wasn’t increasing fast enough during activity.

 

However, between the 2 weeks of his referral and my actual appointment, my heart rate showed improvement and last week, it was in the low 40s. The Pacemaker doc said that since the numbers had shown improvement and since I hadn’t fainted in those 2 weeks, he didn’t think I would need a defibrillator or a pacemaker. He said that it was just part of my heart regaining strength from the de-conditioning I experienced in the hospital and that it would improve over time. He said to just keep working hard to build my muscles and my heart would follow suit as my body continues to heal.

Under the advice of my doc and my Physical Therapist, I kicked up my exercise time a bit, and over the past 3 days, I’ve felt more energized and a lot stronger, and more alive—it seriously feels like my body just “woke up.” 🙂 So I went in to see my Cardiologist yesterday and he asked how I was feeling—had I been dizzy or had I fainted this past week since seeing the Pacemaker doc, and I said no. At the end of our appointment, he was happy to report that my heart “sounds beautiful” and it is FINALLY at a resting heart rate of 63!!! I nearly cried with so much excitement when I was in the office with him!! He said to just keep exercising, eating healthy, and living a healthy drug-free lifestyle and that I should be just fine. So I officially have a CLEAN BILL OF HEALTH and this nightmare is nearly over!! I am SOOO relieved to be getting back to normal! 🙂

 

20130209_095513

 

I met with my physical therapist on Thursday for (what was supposed to be) our last session, but after she did her evaluations, decided we needed 2 more sessions because my balance is still off—especially when I start moving faster. So 2 more sessions and I’ll be good to go! I also went to my 1st class back at the gym this morning—Aqua Fitness (water aerobics)! I couldn’t move as fast as the other ladies in the pool and I fell over in the water a few times doing some of the kicks and side-to-side moves, but I was able to power through it and I’m looking forward to going again next Saturday. So, praise God, I am finally in the clear! I’m looking forward to getting stronger and going back into the office(s) full-force next week!

I know a lot of people have been wondering why it’s taken so long for me to bounce back from all of this, and have been trying like crazy to come up with their own diagnosis of why it’s taking so long/what my health issues could be/how to “fix” me, etc. Believe me—NO ONE is as excited and ready for me to be back to 100% more than I am! I WISH I could tell people what they want to hear and acknowledge their many theories about how “you’re more athletic now, so a resting heart rate of 40 is probably normal for you,” or “are the doctors looking into ________?!?,” or “the drugs are probably still in your system.” Alas, it really HAS just been (what the doc has been saying this WHOLE time) my muscles being de-conditioned and taking their time to rebuild in their own way. My favorite thing that the doc said yesterday was,

 

 

“People think there’s a set answer for everything, but medicine is a science and EVERY body is different.
What happened to you is beyond belief and the road from here to there
has been out of ‘the norm,’ but it’s just the way YOUR body works. That’s why we don’t have robots diagnosing every patient that comes in to the clinic. Like I said, your heart just needed time to regain strength and now, you’re on your way to a full recovery.
In the meantime, don’t take ANY MORE Benzodiazepines!”

 

My next order of business is to get my MedicAlert bracelet ordered. I’ve been putting it off for so long because I have a hard time accepting that I’m now a “health risk” and will be labeled for the rest of my life, but thanks to some good conversations with others who have them, I’ve finally resolved to just do it and see it as a blessing and not a curse. It’s been a LONG, hard road and although I’m still working  through a lot of the thoughts & feelings wrapped around every memory along the way, I’m more than ready to keep challenging myself to focus on the things that will help me see the end of this road, cross that Finish Line, and live in the celebration of it all! 

I’m also ready to start giving back to all of those who walked this road with me and gave me rides, love, meals, hugs, hope, and prayers along the way! If you have been part of that crew, following along through all of this, I just want to give you a GREAT BIG internet hug and say THANK YOU so much for all your love, support and prayers along the way—they have made and are still making a HUGE difference!! It feels SO good to be ALIVE! ♥ 

 

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, lived in Seattle, WA, and now back home in Texas! I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

5 thoughts on “Welcome To The 60s

  1. Wooooohoooo! Yeeeehaaaaaw! Yiiiippeeeee! What else can I say? Fantastic news my love!

  2. I wanna see that moozey with you! It was fun having you in Aqua 🙂 Hopefully we can go at least ONE more time together in the next month 😉
    PS 20’s FOR THE WIN for a wedding OMG that would be so amazing!!!!!!!!!

  3. yay!!! Let’s go see it!!!! I’m sad I’ll miss Aqua this Saturday, but hopefully we can still do next Saturday . . . don’t come early, Jitterbug! 😉

  4. Does anyone know where I can find that dress the bridesmaid one? PLEASE I need it !!

Leave a Reply

