amo.says

my life in my words

A Hot Minute

6 Comments

Currently…

I’m actually borrowing this idea from another blogger that I follow because this is a crazy busy week/end and. while I want to keep everyone in the loop with what’s been going on in my life lately, I don’t have a ton of time to give the lengthy answers I want to. So, those messages, e-mails, and calls will be put on hold and this will just have to do for now 😉 Here are some of the things that are currently going on in my life . . .

 

Current Book:

GONE by Michael Grant

 

One of the students in my youth ministry recommended this book to me and let me borrow it, so it’s my current read! It’s a sci-fi book about a random disappearance of adults and what happens when the young people are left to fend for themselves. I’ll be cracking it open later today and I’m excited to enter a whole new world! When the acclaim on the back of the book compares it to a Stephen King version of Lord of the Flies, you KNOW it’s gonna be good! ;p

 

Current Music:

Y’ALL!!! LISA LOEB HAS NEW MUSIC OUT NOW!!!!! Goodbye life, hello Early 90s Amo!

From the diva that brought you this emo awesomeness . . .

. . . comes this kickin’ jam . . .

just dance with me, folks!

Current Guilty Pleasure:

PIE!!!! A lot of people fault me for not going gaga over cake, chocolate mousse, crepes, doughnuts, etc. The bottom line is that I’m just not that into those things. I’m a PIE girl ALLLLLL the way!! Pecan, (warm) Apple, Key Lime, Strawberry Rhubarb, Marionberry, Pumpkin, Chocolate Peanut Butter, Banana Creme, Coconut Creme, Lemon, Blueberry . . . they are my weakness! I’d skip over a ginormous slice of red velvet or carrot cake for a simple slice of Key Lime pie in a heartbeat. You can imagine my excitement when a co-worker of mine introduced me to a new (to me) Seattle eatery—PIE. I had both their Salisbury Steak pot pie and a “Mini Mini” Key Lime and enjoyed every wonderful bite! Don’t be surprised if you come to my wedding and the dessert table features a bunch of these mini Key Lime pies! Of course, knowing me, it’ll probably be just a big array of various flavors because by then I’ll have tried minis of all their sweet pies and I won’t be able to decide on just one kind 😉

 

Holy Yum!

Current Nail Color:

They’re actually naked right now, but as soon as I get them repainted, I’m going for a nice deep sassy shade of red! Probably one of these:

 

Current Drink:

Vitamin Water ZERO “XXX.” I have not been getting in as much water as I need. I mean, sure I get it in the form of coffee, but that’s not quite going to cut it. I really need to amp up my water intake, but since water can get kinda “blah,” I prefer to twist open one of these satisfying sips to get the job done. I really like all their fruity flavors, but the “XXX” is my fave!

 

Current Food:

Well, I don’t have anything in my mouth right now, but I can tell you what I had most recently that was blog-worthy . . .

 

Ohhhhh glory!

Ohhhhh glory!

 

That’s right, y’all! FRIED GREEN TOMATOES!!!!! I’ve actually been craving a lot of Southern, down-home cookin’ lately and I’ve even noticed what little bit of a Southern accent I have creeping back around. :O I recently had the opportunity to join one of my best friends for dinner at the 5 Spot Cafe in Queen Anne and I couldn’t resist ordering up these puppies! . . . errrrr . . . tomatoes. They were heavenly and had a great spicy kick to them. They were most definitely a treat worth savoring!

 

Current Favorite Show:

 

The Biggest Loser!!! Oh you KNOW I have to get my Bob Harper fix! What a fox!!!!! Okay for real though, I do love the stories, but to say that I only watch for the inspiration stories would be a big fat lie. I’m a girl. A girl who likes tough, tattooed, scruffy, fit, funny, geektastic guys! I can’t help it!

 

 

I will say, this season has been super crazy cakes—not just because I’ve yet to be able to stay awake through an entire episode (sorry, Alisa!), but because having Jillian back on the show is crazy cakes!!! She’s fierce, y’all! And in case you were wondering (I’m pretty sure you weren’t though ;p ) I’m hoping that either Jackson or Gina wins this season. 🙂

 

Current Wish List:

A vacay getaway to Barcelona, Spain! Gah—just look at it guys, it’s GORRRRRGEOUUUUSSSSSS!!!

Current needs:

YARRRRRRRRRRn. Yesterday was actually my very first knitting lesson with my bestie mom, Kathy—who is a veritable Knitting Ninja! And as an added bonus, she even brought me over some rare Pumpkin Spice tea that I’d been hunting for!

 

I did 2 of the rows and I’m looking forward to finishing this puppy up!

 

I’m still very much a beginner, but she says I’m catching on very well, so that’s a big plus! I thought it was going to be one of those, “Yeah, sure I’ll try it, but I’m really not gonna like it, I’m sure,” situations but it’s actually a very interesting and entertaining craft. I think I’ll be sticking with this one for a while 😉 However, that means I need more yarn . . . to make more Knitty Knacks!

 

Current Bane of My Existence:

People constantly making comments or asking me if I’m eating enough calories and/or discussing my eating habits behind-the-scenes.Things I’ve had said to/asked of me that are irrelevant and unwanted:

We need to get some meat on your bones!
Well you are absolutely chunky!
Are you eating enough food every day?
You eat like a bird.
Are you STILL trying to lose weight?
Oh my God, you are so thin!
You’ve fattened up nicely!
Good! She NEEDS to eat!

 

Look folks, I’m doing just fine with my food intake, and yes, I am still exercising. Perhaps instead of making those comments/asking me those food/weight related questions, you might choose to ask one of these:

  • How are you doing emotionally?
  • Can I share a funny story with you about something that happened the other day?
  • Hey, I checked out this awesome book the other day! It’s called . . .
  • What have you been learning in your morning devotional?
  • I know this single guy that I work with, would you be interested in a blind date?
  • Have you seen any good movies lately?
  • How’s the ministry life coming along?
  • Can I share with you something that God/life/marriage/family/kids have been teaching me?
  • Can you pray with me about ___________?
  • What are you looking forward to accomplishing this year?
  • How can I pray for you?

ANY of those would be just perfect! And as far as the “polite behind-the-scenes” chit-chat (AKA: Gossip) about what I am or am not eating and about my weight, yeah that can just stop. Thanks!

 

Current Celebrity Crush:

*Cough* *Cough* [Marry me, Bob!] *Cough* *Cough*

I should not be allowed on the computer . . .

I should not be allowed on the computer . . .

Current Indulgence:

There is a veritable FroYo fiesta going on in my life right now! Part of me feels like I should wear a shirt that says, “Body by FroYo.” I cannot get enough of it! In fact, I’m had some the other night on my Sister Date with my bestie, Grace!

IMG_20130131_072920_Feather

My favorite so far has been the German Chocolate No-Sugar-Added FroYo at Menchie’s!  I just add a bit of coconut and some cherries and it’s Happy Amo time! I’m kinda bummed that I missed the FroYo train when it stopped by around Pumpkin Pie time. Fear not, I won’t be missing out next season!

Nommin’ down on some delicious Menchie’s FroYo, courtesy of the incredible Laurra M. and getting ready to be Texas Loud & Texas Proud! \m/

Current Blessing:

My best friend, Alisa!

Through every twist and turn of this crazy season of my life that I’m going through, she has been a refuge! She consistently encourages me, prays for me, and offers her listening ear and warm arms when I need to be held. It breaks my heart that she and her family are going to be moving away soon. 😦 I’ve had friends come in and out of my life many times before, but Alisa and her family are golden. I love them a million Red Flyer Wagons—they’re THAT awesome! Not only does her husband, Dan, coach our church softball team, but he’s also our worship leader at Westside and does a TON of behind-the-scenes work! He schedules, preps, leads practices, steps in when others are in a pinch, and helps coordinate our Sunday media crew . . . and all of that on top of a steady 9-t0-5 job plus helping raise his 2 preschool kiddos, on a small stipend to compensate. Alisa also serves in a large capacity with our Meals Ministry, in our church’s MOPs ministry, and she home schools her oldest kiddo. They are serious champs and I wish I could be in two places at once because I never want to be far from them. Dan and Alisa, if you’re reading this, please give each other a million hugs from me! Y’all seriously rock the house and I am forever blessed and changed by the gift of your friendship. 🙂

Dan and Alisa leading worship on Sunday morning

Dan and Alisa leading worship on Sunday morning

Current Slang:

I don’t know if it’s anyone else’s slang, but it’s my slang for sure. I’ve been saying that things are “Crazy Cakes” when they’re bizarre, strange, out of control, out of this world, inconceivable, preposterous, random, scary, or just plain weird.

 

This is actually a crazy cake from a bakery called Crazy Cakes in Austin. So my slang is totally understandable now, yeah?? 😉

Current Outfit:

In all actuality, I mostly wear pajamas or sweats these days. I NEED to get back in the habit of wearing real work clothes so I can get my mind in gear for getting back to office life. So for this one, it’s not anything I’m wearing right now, but it’s definitely something I currently WISH I was wearing! 😉

 

(source)

Current Excitement:

I FINALLY booked my flight home to the ATX!!! That’s right folks, I’m heading back home this summer!!! I cannot wait to see my folks and my Bro-Bro + Sis! I’ll be home for 10 long and wonderful days and I plan to hold each of my family members until they realize just how much they mean to me! ❤ In the meantime, I have Skype, which is a huge lifesaver! Also, every time I go home, I make it a point to bring back some Seattle treats & books for my nieces, so if any of you have any good book recommendations or local Seattle shops with good souvenirs (that people might actually want—no shot glasses please), just holla at a sista’, kay? 😉

 

My sis, my bro-bro, and me! What a team 😉

and I’ll get to spend some great quality (and WAYYYYYY overdue) time with my folks too!

and I cannot wait to hug my sweetie girls!!! And of course, I’ll probably be a good Auntie and treat them to FroYo and an annual trip to Build-A-Bear!

Current Links:

Here are some of my favorite sites as of late . . .

Thought Catalog . . . that one place, besides IKEA, where I could get lost for HOURS!

The Wifely Adventurere . . . my friend Kat’s blog is full of wit, wisdom, and straight up shenanigans

Life After Tampons . . . if the name doesn’t sell ya, the encouragement will

Amara . . . a local Seattle adoption agency. I’ll be attending one of their classes soon to look into the process for adopting a child in Washington State.

Decor8 . . . SO much wonderful DIY and just all-around creative inspiration!

Greatist . . . a health/nutrition/fitness source blog chock full of awesome insight and resources for a Fit Life

Design Mom . . . tons of links, ideas, and templates for crafts/DIY fun family stuff

Hungry For Change . . . by and far one of THE BEST documentaries on health/nutrition I’ve seen yet. I recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Love and Logic . . . informative site that equips parents (or will-be parents like me) to raise responsible kids with less stress 🙂

A Daily Dose of Fit . . . one of my favorite fitness blogs, hosted by a personal trainer/group fitness instructor

My Whole Food Life . . . tips, and recipes for Clean Eating as a family

 

Oh yeah . . . and some bonus footage to cap things off—who wants to go see this with me?!?

Happy Sunday FunDay, y’all!

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

6 thoughts on “A Hot Minute

  1. Crazy cakes. That’s what you are. And for that I am so thankful!!

  2. Thanks so much for linking up to Daily Dose! Glad you enjoy it! Keep brushing off those annoying questions, girl. Do what you do! It’s all about being healthy for YOU!

  3. Menchies had FREE YOG yesterday! It was a good thing I don’t have a printer since I would have been all over that sugary goodness otherwise! Phew. We should do a fro yo date. I have a coupon I want to use up 🙂 Love you sistah

  4. Dude, YES AND YES!!!! Seriously—let’s get some! 😀

Leave a Reply

