amo.says

my life in my words

Hearts and Bones | Happy New Year’s Eve 2012 | Video Blog

2 Comments

Can you believe we are only hours away from FIREWORKS????

 

Okay, okay, so we’re only hours away from a new year too, I guess. 😉

This New Year’s Eve is sure to be even more memorable than the last for a number of reasons. Here’s one:

So the only thing better than my boss from the ‘ol 9-to-5 shipping me some *real* TX BBQ for Christmas is being able to share it with friends tomorrow night at the (Heather & John) Jolly’s New Year’s Eve party!!!

 BBQ + Friends + Fireworks = Everything America Should Be 😉

Another one would be:

I will get to adventure OUTSIDE OF MY HOUSE!!! Since I am doing (by necessity) at-home Physical Therapy, my insurance company prohibits me from going outside of my house except for doctor appointments, religious events, and special holiday events. I am honestly going stir crazy, cooped up in my house. Don’t get me wrong, I TOTALLY understand the necessity for me being cooped up in the house, considering I can’t even walk up my driveway without difficulty and sheer exhaustion and the fact that I fell down from walking in my house a week ago, but I have cabin fever like no other. I am looking forward to a “night out on the town!” Also, did I mention FIREWORKS??? 😉

At one of my PT sanctioned religious events: Ringing in a wonderful Christmas Eve with my awesome sauce Pastor, “Papa” Richard Vicknair, and our Westside Church family! ♥

And here’s another one:

I was recently diagnosed with an irregular heartbeat and bradycardia post-hospital stay. Basically, my heartbeat is pausing and my heart rate is low (even for my normal resting heart rate) and is not rising fast or high enough during activity. I will be going in today to meet with a Cardiologist to determine what the next step toward my healing is. The worst-case-scenario is that I will need a pacemaker put in. However, I am hoping that the solution is much simpler. Either way, at this point, I am ALL FOR whatever it takes to get my heart restored so that I can resume a “normal” healthy life!

I’m one appointment closer to solid answers and an upward, onward, next step to full recovery!

 

This past year was all about DISCOVERY and I definitely DISCOVERED a lot of great things about myself and the world around me. In light of my recent medical setbacks, I wanted to write a long post about everything, but I just don’t have the strength + energy + focus I would need in order to get that done. So what I decided to do instead was record two video blogs: one to post today for New Year’s Eve, and one to post tomorrow for New Year’s Day (once I have the results and solution from the Cardiologist). I know it’s not much of an offering for all of you who have been following along with me in this journey and covering me in support, care, love, and provision, but I hope it blesses you in some way! Without further adieu, here is part one:

I don’t know about y’all, but I am MORE than ready to ring in the New Year!

 

New Year’s Eve 2011

Viva la 2013!

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, lived in Seattle, WA, and now back home in Texas! I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

2 thoughts on “Hearts and Bones | Happy New Year’s Eve 2012 | Video Blog

  1. It never ceases to amaze me how vulnerable you are able to be to share with people insights into what is happening into your life in such an open way. I have loved being with you every step of the way from New years last year to New years this year. I love you forever and a day Amanda and know that 2013 is going to bring more rocking stories of success and adventures from you!

    • Awww ❤ I seriously couldn't do it without knowing I have a "safe" friend like you to lean on and to trust with all my heart and soul no matter what comes my way. You are such a blessing to me. Let's live it up some more!

Leave a Reply

