amo.says

my life in my words

On This Winter’s Night

Leave a comment

☃ Merry Christmas Eve! ☃ 

 

Merry Christmas 2012!

Merry Christmas 2012!

 

One of my big questions for everyone during Christmastime this year has been:

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FAMILY TRADITION?

 

Knowing that I wouldn’t be spending the holidays with my family, I made it my mission earlier this year to try to set up some new traditions for myself.

  • What will holiday traditions do I want to build into my life now that I’m on my own, livin’ the single lady life?
  • What will my future holiday traditions look like when I find that special someone?
  • What will my future holiday traditions look like when I have kids?

While a few major (and minor) events have set me back recently, I have been able to establish some and I’m looking forward to developing more next year!

 

Things I’m including this year:

 

Going to see the Nutcracker Ballet 

Even though I am mandated by my PT to be housebound, she gave me permission to have a special outing. So, I received one of the best Christmas gifts—my friend Melissa T. treated me to a night out to dinner & my 1st ballet ever—The Nutcracker!! It was by and far one of the most incredible, creative, and beautiful experiences I’ve ever had! ♥

 

Christmas Eve Breakfast for Dinner

I actually haven’t made dinner yet, but I will in just a bit. It’s going to be Turkey Sausage Egg Omelet with salsa + Gingerbread Pancakes + Pumpkin Granola and Stumptown Hairbender Coffee! Breakfast is my favorite meal and so what better way to kick off a season of happiness than with those delicious treats!?!

 

Video Chat with my Family

After tonight’s Candlelight Christmas Eve service at my home church, I’ll be sitting in front of my computer video chatting with both sides of my family all the way back in Texas! I’ll also get to chat with them tomorrow!!

 

Going to Bed in my Favorite Pajamas

These pajamas are special. It's actually a big deal to me that I'm wearing them to bed tonight. They are not only my FAVORITE pajamas, but they are actually the ones I wore the day I got my wisdom teeth taken out. And while I still can't watch the video from that night that turned into a month-long nightmare, I'm determined to wear them tonight and celebrate the victory of where God has brought me through every twist and turn along this crazy journey. I am looking forward to waking up in them, not in turmoil and danger from benzos, but in joy and victory, ready to embrace this next season of life!

These pajamas are special. It’s actually a big deal to me that I’m wearing them to bed tonight. They are not only my FAVORITE pajamas, but they are actually the ones I wore the day I got my wisdom teeth taken out. And while I still can’t watch the video from that night that turned into a month-long nightmare, I’m determined to wear them tonight and celebrate the victory of where God has brought me through every twist and turn along this crazy journey. I am looking forward to waking up in them, not in turmoil and danger from benzos, but in joy and victory, ready to embrace this next season of life!

 

Christmas Morning Quiet Time Devotional

Christmas morning will be celebrated with a special quiet time devotional from my Jesus Calling devotional. I received it as a gift when I was going into the rehab center to do my Physical/Occupational Therapy recuperation time and it’s carried me along every day since. It DEFINITELY belongs on the forefront of my Christmas Day. After all, Jesus IS the reason for the season!

 

“Stockings Only” in the Morning

Even though I have a bunch of presents under the tree, I want to open the little ones in my stocking first. They are simple, small, but packed with love and care. I had friends pick them out for me according to what they thought I might like. It’s going to be a time for me to celebrate the friendships that seem simple and small, but come overflowing with love and care!

 

Mexican Food For Christmas Breakfast

This is actually something that my family does every year and I’M NOT LETTING IT GO!!! It will FOREVER be tradition! 😀 We always do turkey and ham and the traditional stuff for Thanksgiving, but Christmas is ALLLLL Mexican food alllll day! Breakfast would usually consist of Mamo’s (grandma) tamales, Barbacoa tacos on Mamo’s homemade flour tortillas, Menudo, Migas, and TONS of salsa! Tonight, my dear friend Melanie is bringing me Pozole. I’m going to save it for tomorrow’s breakfast and party it up Latin style for Christmas breakfast before hitting up the Christmas Caroling! I’ll also be enjoying some pumpkin pie with my breakfast too 😉 I can’t wait!

 

Making my own recipes for Christmas Day

That’s right! I did it! I’ve always wanted to contribute something to Christmas Dinner. My aunts always bring their signature dishes (*ahem* Holla, broccoli rice and cheese casserole!!) but I tend to come up short and just bring some canned corn that I microwaved. Not this year! I’m stepping up my game!

It took every ounce of energy I had in me, but yesterday and today, I made my Christmas recipes! Rosemary + Basil roasted carrots (Caroling Carrots); Green food-dyed oatmeal cookies [not pictured because they need to be decorated tomorrow] (Green Grinchies); and home baked + mashed Cinnamon Sugar Sweet Potatoes (Yuletide Yams)! I'll be honest, there's about a third less yams in that bowl because I couldn't stop eating them . . . you know, cause I *had* to taste test them ;p

It took every ounce of energy I had in me, but yesterday and today, I made my Christmas recipes! Rosemary + Basil roasted carrots (Caroling Carrots); Green food-dyed oatmeal cookies [not pictured because they need to be decorated tomorrow] (Green Grinchies); and home baked + mashed Cinnamon Sugar Sweet Potatoes (Yuletide Yams)! I’ll be honest, there’s about a third less yams in that bowl because I couldn’t stop eating them . . . you know, cause I *had* to taste test them ;p

Christmas Caroling at the King County Juvenile Detention Center

For the past couple of years, my amazing best friend, Maggie has organized an event where people from our home church (Westside Church) get together and head down to the King County Juvenile Detention Center to sing Christmas Carols and pass out Christmas gifts that our congregation has prepared for the teens. Though I am a Children’s Director, my utmost heartbeat is still teenagers and being able to give back to these hurting hearts that are without family time during this season is a no-brainer! I’m looking forward to making this a full-on Christmas tradition!

 

I am overwhelmed with gratitude for my Family of Friends from the East Coast to the West Coast and my own housemates! These are ALLLL gifts from them—including stocking stuffers and regular presents. I am truly one blessed girl!

I am overwhelmed with gratitude for my Family of Friends from the East Coast to the West Coast and my own housemates! These are ALLLL gifts from them—including stocking stuffers and regular presents. I am truly one blessed girl!

 

Who knows what other things I’ll add next year. What matters most is that I’m learning a lot about myself and who I am in Christ during this season of questions and soul-searching. Being away from my family is definitely an emotional struggle, but knowing that I’m surrounded by the abundant love and hope of Christ and the warm fuzzies and life that come from my Family of Friends is carrying me through . . . which is great cause right now I can’t even walk right ;p hehehehe

One more sleep until the big special day, so . . .

Merry Christmas to all and to all a GOOD night!

 

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, lived in Seattle, WA, and now back home in Texas! I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

Leave a Reply

