amo.says

my life in my words

Birthday Cake | Fit Life Friday

5 Comments

“Some people come into our lives and leave footprints on our hearts and we are never ever the same.”

—Flavia Weedn

This post is brought to you by the letters

R – O- and B

 

Rob Vincent, Artist Extraordinaire! | http://www.rvincentart.com/

That’s right, this is Rob! Let me tell you what makes Rob a special part of today’s FIT LIFE FRIDAY post. Rob is a motivator. Rob is a hero. Rob is a challenger. Rob is creative. Rob is inspiring. Rob is an exceptional human being. Rob is a great father. Rob is wise. Rob is funny. Rob is caring. Rob is friendly. Rob is flexible. Rob is weak in all the right places. Rob is an artist. Rob is strong in all the right places. Rob is encouraging. Rob is a giver. And when you dig deep beyond all the extraordinary capabilities that Rob has, you find in there a special role—Rob is my Tuesday/Thursday night Turbo Kick instructor at 24 Hour-Fitness in Northgate

Believe me when I say that he is Awesome Sauce to the max! He’s been such a vital part to encouraging me to get my lazy butt to the gym and get in a fun, high-energy, quality workout. My journey to reclaim my health would not be as possible or worthwhile without his efforts to be the best Turbo Kick instructor that he can be. So naturally, when our class found out that we would be losing our Tuesday and Thursday night classes due to some new classes being introduced (which cased some big scheduling conflicts), we knew we had to celebrate Rob’s bittersweet last night with us in the biggest and best way possible! A core group of my fellow classmates and I schemed together to organize a special NEON FLASHBACK NIGHT tribute to Rob, complete with bright workout gear and glow sticks. Here’s a peek into our special evening with Rob:

Melissa bringing the fun! Glow sticks ahoy!!!

Signs of affection

Rob leading our Thursday night pack of stone cold fitness foxes!

Workin’ it with the King of Turbo Kick!

Rob passin’ out the goods . . . 

It’s about to get cray cray up in here . . .

We are the light show!! Viva la Glow Stick Turbo Partaaayyyy!!

Finishing up with a sweet recovery . . . which we needed after bringing our A++ Game!

Rob makin’ sure we take care of our bodies with a refreshing post-workout stretch sesh

A small part of our Thursday Night Turbo Kick Class (those that could stick around) showin’ our love for our TK Jedi Mastahhhh!

I picked up these wonderful flowers at Pike Place Market for Rob because they remind me of his love for gardening. I found it fitting because he definitely has a knack for making beautiful, healthy things grow! 😀

Booty shot with Rob, me, and my Turbo Kick fitness friends! ♥

 

 

Dear Rob,

I cannot thank you enough for all of your encouragement and for your friendship! You are so much more than just a Turbo Kick instructor. You are a superhero and I am forever thankful for all that you’ve done to help me become the best version of myself. You’ve helped me make the impossible possible and have helped me embrace a healthy, body-positive lifestyle. Your time, energy, motivation, and ability to make fitness fun for me has NOT been in vain. Thank you for sharing your life and family with me and our class (especially that adorably sweet panda, Oliver!). Because of you, I’ve made new fitness friends and have learned to fight for my life in a whole new way! I hope that there will come a time soon when you’ll be back teaching at 24Hr in Northgate because that family (and my Fit Life) just isn’t the same without you! Keep up the great work and party rock on!

All my love and warm fuzzies,

Amo

 

If you all get a chance, head over to Rob’s art SITE and FACEBOOK and take a peek at another piece of his talents at work!

 

Happy Fit Life Friday, Y’all!

 

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

5 thoughts on “Birthday Cake | Fit Life Friday

  1. Rob really IS the best, I’m going to miss him as an instructor so much. He’s a great motivator to coming on Tuesdays!

  2. Hi! I used to come in for Rob’s TBK class as well and I have yet to find a class just like his. Any luck?

    • Hey Ageline! While no class will ever be quite as awesome as Rob’s TBK, I’ve found that I still get a good workout with some of the same techniques & choreography in Alex’s Body Combat class. I usually go to the Monday night class and the Saturday morning class. It’s definitely worth trying out! Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

