amo.says

my life in my words

Beautiful Monster | Candy Zone 2012

2 Comments

Welcome to November 2012!

 

 ♫ Wake up, wake up, wake up it’s the 1st of the month. So get up, get up, get up so cash your checks and get up . . . ♫

Uh, I mean whaaaat? No. No, I was not just singing a Bone Thugs song. 😉

 

So Halloween has come and gone, and with it came one of the biggest landmarks of my time as the new Children’s Director at Westside! Every year, our church hosts an event called CANDY ZONE, which is a neighborhood Halloween event that allows us the opportunity to give back to our neighbors and to connect with new people in the area. Oh, and there’s also that thing where we pass out a crap ton of candy to all the kiddos and parents that cycle through the games all evening long. 😀

 

Welcome to Candy Zone 2012!

 

Going into this event, I really wanted to add a whole bunch of new elements and enhance certain things that I had thought needed improvement from years past. However, through wise counsel and the current season of my life, I came to terms with the idea that perhaps the wisest thing to do would be to just put on a repeat of the past year and go through it, making notes and learning from the experience as a whole. I’m really glad that I did that. I definitely have more to share about the days leading up to it and how I TREATED myself for Halloween, but that will come in another post. For now, I just want to share with you some of my favorite scenes from the evening!

First, let me introduce you to all the fun booths we had going on:

Thanks to our Skittles Guessing Game, someone is gonna be in a sugar coma for a verrrrry long time! 😉 | BOO-Sket Ball booth

Mummy’s Money Toss (Penny-In-A-Cup) | Jack-O-Lantern Shoot-Out

Shackle Toss (Ring Toss) | Full Moon Foto Booth

Lil’ Punkin’ Patch (for the little tykes to play too) | Boo Boo’s Bake Walk prizes and the Foto Booth area in the back left corner of the stage

Louie’s Luau Lunch Launch (toss food into inflatable’s mouth) | Bag ‘O’ Bones Toss (Bean Bag Toss)

Pond Scum-A-Palooza (fishing for prizes) | Bowling For Bones

Trixie’s Treats (Snack station outside with hot cocoa, tea, coffee, candy, and cookies to pass out to our guests!)

 

I was so completely blessed and impressed by the hard work our church members put forth in volunteering during various times on Tuesday and Wednesday to set it all up! They seriously made it happen, Cap’n! Candy Zone would NOT have been a success without all their efforts, creativity, and hearts to serve! I was responsible for planning, managing, developing, and overseeing the event, so the natural spot for me to work was the Emcee for the evening, which meant hosting the Bake Walk. One of my favorite moments of the night actually happened during our last round of the Bake Walk.

 

Winner, Winner, Bake Walk Dinner!

 

After the music had stopped on our last round of the Bake Walk, I asked one of the kids participating to come up and pick a number. Well, this sweetie kid was nervous and didn’t want to at first. He was torn because he wanted to help and he wanted to pick the number, but not if it meant that he couldn’t have a chance to win a prize. So I reassured him that we would remember the number he was standing on and that if his number was picked, he would still most definitely win the cake. Well, who would have thought that it would actually happen? He did it! He blindly picked his own Bake Walk number with the luck of the draw! It was soooooo amazing to see him get all excited that he not only got to help do an “important” job, but also that he won! It was definitely a precious moment for me. He was able to have his cake and eat it too! 😉

 

Another thing I loved about the evening was seeing my friends in their rad sauce costumes!

 

♥ Jolly as Wolverine / Spiderman, Witchy Poo, and Cinderella Cross hanging out with a Haydy cheerleader / Tom as the Tin Man ♥

 

I had SUCH a wonderful time partying with all these folks! Running the event definitely had a couple of stressful moments, but more than it had stressful moments, it had moments of love, hope, happiness, community, excitement, connection, and booty shakin’—all in all, it was a party I could be proud of! My favorite part of all time was hearing people say how much FUN they were having!! Mission ACCOMPLISHED!!!

 

I’m overwhelmed with joy after tonight’s Candy Zone party! These folks know how to move it, move it! ♥

 

Sadly, I returned to an empty home, since all my housemates were out partying and trick-or-treating. But I guess my role as the Candy Fairy all night at Candy Zone got the better of me, because it just so happens that we had some candy leftover from the event and I knew just who to share it with—my wonderful housemates!! What? They deserve a little love from the Candy Fairy too 😉

 

I heart my housemates!

 

Welp, another Halloween has come and gone. I’m ready to start working on follow-up from Candy Zone, as well as re-organizing all the decorations and putting together the strategy package for future years to reference. And then, on to planning our next big event: The HOLLY JOLLY HULLABALOO Christmas presentation! That’s right, just ONE MORE excuse to listen to Christmas music—oh my heart is happy!

 

For those who were deprived of a quality childhood, I am dressed up as INKY, the blue ghost from the PacMan video game 😉

 

Happy Halloween from Me and Inky!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Monster | Candy Zone 2012

  1. I can’t believe you got this up the day after sheesh no lazyness hur!

Leave a Reply

