amo.says

my life in my words

Birthday

1 Comment

20131103_070226

I dunno about you, but I’m feelin’ 32!

 

Coming off of a week of recovery from a double-whammy featuring bronchitis and pneumonia, I was entirely grateful to be feeling at least 95% on my Birthday! I’m still fighting off the remainder of the infections, and when I do, it’s gonna be a true Fro-Yo Tastic celebration (can’t have dairy or chocolate until I get better)! Thankfully, my wonderful friends helped me ease into a fun Pre-Party celebration and made sure that I also had an incredibly fun special day! On Saturday, my best friend Heather took me to breakfast at GLO’s in Cap Hill and then we got to explore the area, try some delicious Kuma Coffee at BLACK COFFEE CO-OP, and hit up the Value Village for a fun schemy surprise that will come out of hiding at the Westside Women’s Christmas Brunch! Hehehehehehe!! ;)

 

20131103_093720

The morning of my Birthday came early and fast . . . as most Sundays do! I got a call from my folks and I even got to talk to Vanessa!! It was a Happy Birthday morning indeed! I was greeted by my early arriving teen volunteers who brought me gifts and cards—starting the morning off feeling loved is NEVER a bad idea. Then, as I was working the Check-In desk with the 1st service crew, parents and kids alike showered me with sweet Birthday wishes, presents, cards, and best of all . . . HUGS!!!! Our incredible Pastor’s wife also arranged for all the kids to have Birthday hats and blowers handed out to them. Her sweet kiddos also greeted me with hugs and a massive collection of balloons! She also bought Krispy Kreme donuts for the kids to enjoy as a special celebratory treat that morning. They all sang me Happy Birthday and presented me with a HUGE special gift [Gift cards to OLD NAVY and HOGWARTS!!!!]* that all the parents contributed towards, before we all sang our Praise & Worship songs. It was a gigantic celebration and my heart was completely filled with joy and appreciation!

20131103_165223

After service, I took one of my youth girls out for our pre-scheduled lunch and chat time date. I almost wore the balloons (that were now belted around my jeans) and the mohawk wig (for Crazy Hair Sunday in Kid’s Church) out to lunch, but they wouldn’t fit in the car we rode down to lunch in. However, the glasses stayed and even garnered me a sweet Birthday treat (Pumpkin Scone) from GREAT HARVEST! Holy Yum! We then headed back to the church to set up the decorations for youth group that night and spent some extra time just talking about life and some struggles she’d been facing. Feeling useful on your Birthday is also a really great thing! Shortly before dinner time, a few of the youth students showed up early, so we had dinner all together. I made them Little Smokies in Stubb’s BBQ sauce—a true Texas (and Birthday) treat!

20131103_171444

Then we had youth service and I got even more gifts and cards from my wonderful teens! Everyone helped with clean-up and I got a ride home from our Associate Pastor, so I got to enjoy more of the evening and spend less of it on the bus.  I got to spend the rest of my evening in my pajamas, eating popcorn and fresh pineapple chunks, all the while reading over each of the sweet cards that was given to me that day and opening all the sweet gifts from friends!!
I am truly one BLESSED Amo!

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU to everyone for making my special day rock SO much!!! Your In-Person/FB/Texted/E-mailed Birthday wishes, messages, DMs, Tweets, gifts, and cards have filled my tanks beyond overflowing!!! It was an honor to celebrate all day w/ my Westside fam.

And last night, the Birthday fun continued as my best friend Maggie treated me to a delicious home-cooked dinner and a movie (GRAVITY 3D, which I have been wanting to see SOOOOOO bad)!! It was pretty good, though I admit, I would have appreciated a little more closure. As the credits were rolling, I was hoping for a “bonus scene” or something to let us know what the “next step” was. Alas, no bonus scene. Only questions and assumptions were our parting gifts. Still, it was a great flick and I’m glad we got to watch it together!

For now the work-week carries on until Sunday night when I get to fly out to Baltimore to spend a week celebrating life with my bestest ever friend on the whole planet—Sarah!! We already talked about our plans for the week and I’m so stoked for our adventures!  To everyone that made my Birthday special—THANK YOU FOREVER AND A DAY!!!
You keep my heart, mind, and life FULL!

(One of our Westside Kids workers helps a kiddo sing me HAPPY BIRTHDAY!)

* My nickname for THE JEWEL BOX CAFE, which is my favorite Seattle coffee shop!

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

One thought on “Birthday

  1. Aww you were seriously showered! Well I hope you showered, I still love ya even if you didn’t! So glad to see all the fun love you got! Looks like we’ll be planning a return trip to oldnavy soon!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers