amo.says

my life in my words

I Want You Back

1 Comment

Yesterday I mentioned a bit about my life as a youngster. Today, in typical #ThrowBackThursday style, I wanted to go back in time and share some of my favorite things from my teen years!

Let’s start with this gem of a TV show . . . only my fave show ever!

10 Awesome Sauce Points if you can mimic Jessie Spano’s caffeine pill meltdown in front of Zack.

And don’t be surprised to walk in on teenage Amo standing on her bed,
with a “microphone” brush belting out this rockin’ tune:

My fashion icon back in the day:

Gwen Stefani of No Doubt

Movie I could not stop watching:

I actually spent one entire summer at my dad’s apartment and he had no TV, only a VCR and this was the only thing worth watching cause I SURE wasn’t going to willingly watch The Music Machine. Eventually, we got The Last Unicorn

and then it was a daily rotation of Willy Wonka and The Last Unicorn. PS: I used to think that Schmendrick was hot!*

My Teen Crush was:

Yeah, not much has changed ;) . . . still holding out hope for that one ;)

And last, but not least, say Aloha to my favorite food as a teen:

Guess I’ve always been a sucker for pineapple! ;)

Also, in honor of Throwback Thursday, I’ll share with you one of the videos I showed to our youth group this past Sunday to show the differences between teens nowadays and their parents back in the day:

HAPPY THROWBACK THURSDAY, Y’ALL!

* Oh come on! I was a kid!

Author: Amanda Martinez

I am a mexican chick, born in Germany, raised in Austin, TX, and now currently living in Seattle, WA. I am a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a friend, a graphic designer, a youth pastor, a comedienne, a songwriter, a screenwriter, and a lover of music, art, people, and the world around me! Join me on the journey as I share with you my thoughts, dreams, passions, and experiences!

One thought on “I Want You Back

  1. OMG!! I loooove looove the Last Unicorn!! Pretty much the same thing happened for me… except my family just didn’t have cable and that used to be one of the movies we had…!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers